top of page

Replacing the PGO G-MAX regulator/rectifier

Continuing the last post. I am going to share with you changing the rectifier/regulator. Not riding the G-MAX for 2 weeks and had the battery disconnected, i measured the voltage of the battery, and its only 5V. Shit. It immediately made me doubt, whether all my trouble came from this 7 month bad battery.

I took this battery back home and used a 1A trickle charger to charge it. After 1 hour, the voltage was 13.3V but the battery was very warm. After disconnecting the charger, the battery charger dropped to 7V, so the battery was fried.


Timeline, trying to think what damaged my battery.

24th April

The fuse melted. Towed the bike back home, and didn’t touch it. The leads were still connected to the battery.

↓7 days later

1st May

Replaced the melted fuse, measured the battery voltage 12.7V. Went for test ride (without measuring the charging voltage)

↓5 days later (during these 5 days, i did multiple trips, each 20km)

6th May

Realized the battery was boiling hot after a ride. Only then I measured the charging voltage 16.5V. Stopped the engine, and disconnected the leads to the battery.

↓11 days later (didn’t ride this bike at all)

17th May

Measured the battery voltage 5V


Conclusion

I believe the melted fuse has damaged my rectifier/regulator. Not the other way round. Reason being, even after i changed the fuse with the rec/reg still outputting 16.5V, the new fuse didn’t get hot.

My 7 month Yuasa battery was fried by the defective rec/reg because of too high charging voltage. Reason being: 7 days after the bike being towed home, right after i replaced the fuse, the battery voltage was 12.7V and was able to start up the engine, so the battery was fine, until I keep riding it with the defective rec/reg and that fried the battery.

Now i am going to share with you the steps of replacing the rec/reg





Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page